Long Distance Relationship · Uncategorized

Each Trip is an Adventure, Even When it’s Not.

In saying this, I don’t mean that every single trip is packed tight with rock climbing, sky diving, swimming with sharks and maybe even wrestling one or two. What I mean is that each time I get to see Gerald, I get to board a plane and fly thousands of miles to a different country. It gives me the opportunity to immerse myself in a culture different from my own and be a shameless tourist.

Canada and America aren’t all too different, which is a blessing in its own way I guess. In fact, they are actually very similar (besides Canadians being infinitely nicer and more polite. Sorry, [not sorry].) Kidding, that’s not very Canadian of me to make mean jokes. Anyways, I digress.

Each trip is an adventure. I don’t think I’ve ever not stared out the window excitedly as the plane rushes down the strip, rumbling as it prepares to take flight. I love flying. My heart races and I’m ALWAYS nervous about the takeoff and the landing. It doesn’t matter how many times I’ve done it in the past. It’s thrilling, really. I have a moment of fear, anxiety and anxiousness before smooth sailing calms my nerves.

I think being in an international long distance relationship has its perks for this very reason. How many people have an actual, legitimate excuse to go bake themselves under the Florida sun? Or go to England, Brazil, Portugal, Australia, New Zealand, etc?! You get to travel to this other country with your best friend/lover and I couldn’t think of anything more fun than that. You’re on this vacation, this adventure, with your very most favourite person in the world.

It doesn’t matter what the two of you get up to. You can laze around watching Netflix 24/7 (god knows that’s all I do sometimes) and it still is this massive adventure to just get there. You are sitting in a different country, state or city. That’s just crazy to me. Maybe I’m alone in feeling this way but I’m never not excited to travel, no matter the place. I’m excited to do boring, mundane things with the person I love in a country I didn’t grow up in.

Consequently, I really do believe that each trip to see each other is an adventure, even when it’s not.

Inspired by this LDR Writing Prompt: Visits

Join LDRBN! 

Leave a Reply

